CSCL Community Governance

The CSCL Community consists of ISLS members who are particularly interested in issues related to Computer Support for Collaborative Learning. The CSCL Community is represented by the CSCL Committee comprising 12 members and chaired by two co-chairs, currently Wenli Chen and Armin Weinberger. The members of the committee are elected by the members of the CSCL Community. Every two years six committee members (including one of the co-chairs) are elected for a four-year term. The CSCL Committee works to strengthen the international CSCL Community as part of ISLS, working with the ISLS board and the other committees on CSCL affairs, including the CSCL Conferences and the ijCSCL journal.

Committee Members (2018-2022 term)

  • Armin Weinberger, Saarland University, Germany  (Co-chair)
  • Marcela Borge, Pennsylvania State University, USA
  • Bodong Chen, University of Minnesota, USA
  • Raija Hämäläinen, University of Jyväskylä, Finland
  • Sanna Järvelä, Oulu University, Finland
  • Emma Mercier, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA

Committee Members (2016-2020 term)

  • Wenli Chen, NIE, Singapore (Co-chair)
  • Cindy-Hmelo-Silver, Indiana University, USA
  • Ulriche Hoppe, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
  • Eleni Kyza, Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
  • Jianwei Zhang, SUNY, USA
  • Jason Yip, University of Washington, Seattle, USA

Committee Members (2014-2018 term)

  • Sadhana Puntambekar, University of Wisconsin at Madison, USA
  • Frank Fischer, Ludwig Maximilians University, München, Germany
  • Bram de Wever, Gent University, Gent, Belgium
  • Jan-Willem Strijbos, University of Groningen, Netherlands
  • Heisawn Jeong, Hallym University, Chuncheon-si, South Korea
  • Baruch Schwarz, Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel

Committee Members (2012-2016 term)

  • Carolyn Penstein Rose, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, USA (Co-chair)
  • Alyssa Wise, Simon Fraser University, Vancouver, Canada
  • Kristine Lund, ICAR Research Lab, Lyon, France
  • Ingo Kollar, Ludwig Maximilians University, München, Germany
  • Jan van Aalst, University of Hong Kong, China
  • Ulrike Cress, Knowledge Media Research Center, Tübingen, Germany

Committee Members (2010-2014 term)

  • Nikol Rummel, Ruhr Universität Bochum, Germany (Co-chair)
  • Dan Suthers, University of Hawaii, USA
  • Friedrich Hesse, KMRC, Tübingen, Germany
  • Gerry Stahl, Drexel University, USA
  • Nancy Law, University of Hong Kong, China
  • Paul Kirschner, OUNL, Heerlen, Netherlands

Recent CSCL conferences

  • CSCL 2017 — Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • CSCL 2015 — Gothenburg, Sweden
  • CSCL 2013 — Madison, WI, USA
  • CSCL 2011 — The University of Hong Kong
  • CSCL 2009 — University of the Aegean, Rhodes, Greece
  • CSCL 2007 — Rutgers, New Brunswick, NJ, USA
  • CSCL 2005 — Taipei, Taiwan
  • CSCL 2003 — Bergen, Norway
  • CSCL 2002 — Boulder, CO, USA
  • EuroCSCL 2001 — Maastricht, Netherlands
  • CSCL 1999 — Stanford, CA, USA
  • CSCL 1997 — Toronto, ON, Canada
  • CSCL 1995 — Bloomington, IN
  • Workshop on CSCL 91 — Carbondale, IL

Related conferences and organizations


A Steering Committee of the CSCL Community was formed on June 16, 2003, at the CSCL ’03 conference in Bergen, Norway.

The following Resolution of the CSCL Community was formulated and signed by participants at CSCL ’03:

A growing international, interdisciplinary CSCL community has been successful in organizing a series of well-attended and highly valued international conferences. To continue this and to further develop the core mission of this community, an organizational framework is necessary. The attendants of the CSCL 2003 conference in Bergen, Norway, see a good way to do this under the organizational umbrella of the newly formed International Society for the Learning Sciences (ISLS). Condition for doing this is that the community keeps the responsibility for such core issues as:

  • Organizing the CSCL conferences
  • Working to found a new CSCL journal
  • Financial arrangements

As a first step, an initial steering group should be established as a committee of ISLS to work on these points as well as other relevant organizational issues in good collaboration with the established bodies of ISLS.

This resolution was formulated at an open meeting of ISLS on Monday, June 16, 2003, in Bergen, Norway.

Member Log In

Please note that we have updated our website & all prior ISLS members must create a new profile

For information regarding membership renewal or changing membership plans click here


International Journal of CSCL

Published by Springer, the first volume of IJCSCL appeared in 2006. IJCSCL is a multidisciplinary journal which publishes papers reflecting the interests of the international CSCL community.

To join ISLS’ CSCL Community:

Send a message to [email protected] with the message that you want to be part of this community.